Switching Accounts

UIs, Macros, Hotkeys, Parsing, Hardware and other sundry discussion about how the game is played.

Moderators: Druid Mods, Paladin Mods, Shaman Mods

Switching Accounts

Postby Harlan » Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:36 pm

*Back in my day...* it used to be that you could cancel out of the server select screen and change users without going through the patcher. In fact, one could use "/camp server" to get right to the server select screen. Now, every time I try to cancel out of my server select screen the entire application closes and I have to restart things. Is there some way I can configure things so that I can switch account?

Also, while I've got people helping with settings, I've set my filters to spells group and yet I still get the damage of necros from their liche forms.

How do I set "/hidecorpse looted" to be the default?

Thanks,

Harl
Harlan
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:55 pm


Paladin Main
Bard - Alt/Box

Re: Switching Accounts

Postby Brohg » Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:55 pm

To skip the patcher, make a copy of your EQ shortcut and in Properties change the target of that shortcut to:

"C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest\eqgame.exe" patchme

with the quotations.

There is no way to set /hidec looted as default
Brohg
 
Veteran ----
 
Posts: 4975
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 11:29 pm
Server: The Nameless (Innoruuk)


Shaman Main
Warrior - Alt/Box
Wizard - Alt/Box

Re: Switching Accounts

Postby AbyssalMage » Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:05 pm

Harlan wrote:*Back in my day...* it used to be that you could cancel out of the server select screen and change users without going through the patcher. In fact, one could use "/camp server" to get right to the server select screen. Now, every time I try to cancel out of my server select screen the entire application closes and I have to restart things. Is there some way I can configure things so that I can switch account?

Also, while I've got people helping with settings, I've set my filters to spells group and yet I still get the damage of necros from their liche forms.

How do I set "/hidecorpse looted" to be the default?

Thanks,

Harl


I still use /camp server
Then click on the "Chatroom" and "Logout" through there(the chatroom)
Now you will see the TBS splash screen and be able to enter into your other account. Of course now that I am posting this the developers will think this is an exploit and remove it, but you can use it until they do.

Can't help you with filters. I have 3 windows open, (1 window) for chat, spell failures, worn off messages, (1 window) for my spells, DPS, xp message, and skills, and (1 window) for everything else. If I link all my spells together then I will create a 4th window (Minimized) and filter "other" to it.

Create a hotkey so that when you enter the game you can press the "/hidecorpse looted". There used to be a way to place it in one of the character.ini files but from what I understand they removed that back during OoW.
AbyssalMage
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 8:07 pm


Beastlord Main
Cleric - Alt/Box
Necromancer - Alt/Box

Re: Switching Accounts

Postby Normy » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:50 am

Spell damage and where it goes in chat windows has been borked about as long as pally DPS. I can get spell messages to go through any chat window I want, but spell damage will ONLY go through the "main chat" window for some reason. And if I have any spell messages on at all, I always get their (necro/sk self dots) stupid messages constantly.

The only way I deal with it is I have my "main chat" window as my BS window, I minimize it and forget it. Anything I actually want to see goes to one of my 5 other chat windows. That means I never get to see my own spell damage, but thats what you get with a broken game. Order of operations at Sony = disgruntle customers > cater to the loudest poster > new expansions > Larry from HR's birthday party > fixing their product.
Normy Truhart
"Wield your sword with full knowledge of the consequences."
Normy
 
...
 
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:53 pm
Server: Tunare


Paladin Main

Re: Switching Accounts

Postby Brohg » Thu Jun 10, 2010 4:07 pm

Normy wrote: my BS window, I minimize it and forget it


Derail here: Minimizing a spam window is bad, because if you ever un-minimize it, by accident or design, you're probably going to crash the client. Instead make it very small, like one line or less, and just let it scroll like a madman. Alternatively, grab hold of the window and position it off screen, that works too. Just not minimized.
Brohg
 
Veteran ----
 
Posts: 4975
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 11:29 pm
Server: The Nameless (Innoruuk)


Shaman Main
Warrior - Alt/Box
Wizard - Alt/Box

Re: Switching Accounts

Postby Normy » Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:20 pm

True, you will crash your client if you unminimize it after lots of spam, because it attempts to sorta 'catch up' the chat window and it usually just freezes up with that much data.

So use minimize at your own risk, or resizing the window works fine. Same concept, but with a window resized you have to click and drag to crash your client instead of accidentally clicking a button. I generally use minimize but I hide the main window behind another UI piece so I never have that risk.
Normy
 
...
 
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:53 pm
Server: Tunare


Paladin Main


Return to Game Mechanics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest