EQ Hijacks my comp?!

UIs, Macros, Hotkeys, Parsing, Hardware and other sundry discussion about how the game is played.

Moderators: Druid Mods, Paladin Mods, Shaman Mods

EQ Hijacks my comp?!

Postby Namira » Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:48 pm

Hello All,

I've noticed lately that once I run EQ on my system I can't connect to the net in any other way... Firefox, Chrome, IE. I used to be able to alt-tab out and check websites for info, no longer! Even after I shut down EQ I get a connection error message in my browser. To get a connection I need to do a total reboot. Any ideas on what might be going on? I am running XP on a cable modem, no router, firewall isn't the issue, no change in config from when I was able to connect.

Thanks in advance,

Namira
Namira
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:44 am
Server: Saryrn


Druid Main
Necromancer - Alt/Box
Monk - Alt/Box

Re: EQ Hijacks my comp?!

Postby Kakimor » Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:34 am

Kakimor
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:22 pm


Berserker Main
Shaman - Alt/Box
Paladin - Alt/Box

Re: EQ Hijacks my comp?!

Postby Namira » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:35 pm

I know the malware that is on my system... it is EQ lol. It only happens when I run EQ. My comp is malware free, I have Spyware Doctor running... but thanks for trying.

Nam
Namira
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:44 am
Server: Saryrn


Druid Main
Necromancer - Alt/Box
Monk - Alt/Box

Re: EQ Hijacks my comp?!

Postby Ughbash » Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:38 pm

Namira wrote:I know the malware that is on my system... it is EQ lol. It only happens when I run EQ. My comp is malware free, I have Spyware Doctor running... but thanks for trying.

Nam

Considering that I run EQ and window out to Internet Explorer or check email with no problem at all, perhaps you DON'T know what is happening on your computer.
Tunares' Froggie Shaman,
Hipitey Hop [Watchkeepers]
Ughbash
Ferocious Vie
 
Veteran --
 
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 12:04 pm
Server: tunare


Monk Main
Shaman - Alt/Box
Warrior - Alt/Box

Re: EQ Hijacks my comp?!

Postby Kruzar » Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:52 pm

I would seriously run some other checks on your system if this is happening.

I run EQ and multiple other programs all at the same time without issue. It is very rare that I don't have at least one browser window open if not 3 or 4...
Kruzar- Kitty Rogue of 85 Seasons
Kyleanea- Barbarian Shaman of 75 Seasons
Kruzar
 
.
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:51 pm


Rogue Main
Shaman - Alt/Box
Magician - Alt/Box

Re: EQ Hijacks my comp?!

Postby Namira » Sat Mar 21, 2009 8:24 pm

With the last patch I can connect again. Strange! Thanks to all who responded.

Namira
Namira
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:44 am
Server: Saryrn


Druid Main
Necromancer - Alt/Box
Monk - Alt/Box


Return to Game Mechanics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron